• Project R.A.C.E.
  • Serial production of complex, structural hollow components
  • Project R.A.C.E.
  • Serial production of complex, structural hollow components
  • Project R.A.C.E.

Project R.A.C.E.

Serial production of complex, structural hollow components

As part of “Project R.A.C.E.” (Reaction Application for Composite Evolution), Hennecke has now made a decisive development step with top industry partners which enables the production of fiber composite hollow parts in a matter of seconds. At the focus of the project is a process chain for production of a motorcycle license plate holder made of carbon fiber composite material with a hollow construction. The traditional license plate holder weighs more than 765 grams, however with the project R.A.C.E., the component exhibits increased performance with a total weight of only 265 grams. That is a weight reduction of over 60 percent!

8 partners, 21 specialists, 28 weeks of development time

The framework conditions of the R.A.C.E. project were clearly defined

The project was initiated under the management of Hennecke with the goal of bringing the new CAVUS production technology to series production. Together with the partners Engel, Huntsman, Murtfeldt, IFB Stuttgart, Persico, Reinsicht (formerly H2K Minerals) and KTM Technologies, an international team working holistically was formed consisting of 21 specialists who made it their task to develop a component all the way to series production, starting with a blank sheet of paper: the license plate holder for the KTM 1290 Superduke R. The challenge for this performance component lies in the interplay of the right construction and a production-ready design, and the combination of efficient processes based on the innovative CAVUS technology from KTM Technologies. CAVUS denotes the automated process chain for manufacturing structural complex hollow components from the core production, manufacture of the pre-form with carbon fibers in braiding technology through the HP-RTM process to the dissolution of the core material. This creates completely new design possibilities and functions.

Ideation and design

Ideation and design

The interplay of design and engineering forms the basis for a successful component. Kiska-designers and experts of KTM Technologies use the “Inside Out Design” approach for the license plate holder of the Superduke. Initial manual drawings on paper form the basis for the development process that starts simultaneously. Aspects like building space, connection concept and the manufacturability of the component are considered right from the start.

Ideation and design

Component and process simulation

Component and process simulation

In order to ensure process capability even in the early project phase, the IFB engineers (Institute of Aircraft Design) from the University of Stuttgart use various simulation tools. After the initial sketches are transferred into the CAD software, structure simulations of the component are created, which result in a first estimate of the necessary number of braiding processes. In the next step, these results are used for the braiding simulation, which provides insight about the emerging fibre angles and possible problem zones.

Component and process simulation

Core technology

Core technology

A central element of the CAVUS technology is the sand core of Reinsicht (formerly H2K Minerals). For the R.A.C.E. project, the core was set to a temperature resistance of 330 °C and a pressure resistance of 500 bar. The core also shows its special characteristics after the infiltration of the braid with the matrix. Removing it from the component without increased effort is done with just water. Furthermore, the resulting solution is not toxic. Due to the independent separation of the core components, the elements can easily be separated and recycled. In this process, up to 98 percent of the core is re-usable, depending on the material combination.

Core technology

Preforming

Preforming

The fibres were applied by the Institute of Aircraft Design at the University of Stuttgart using braiding technology. The core was fixed in a clamping device in the robot of the braiding unit and guided through a braiding wheel following a braid path calculated by the simulation. A Herzog RF 1/64-100 radial braider was used for the R.A.C.E. project. The textile was applied to the core with 64 braid strands consisting of 24k carbon fibre rovings. The strength of the springs in the bobbins determines how tight the braid sits on the core. 600 grams tensile force of the springs provided the best result of flexibility and stiffness for the biaxial braid.

Preforms

Polyurethane matrix

Polyurethane matrix

Outstanding mechanical properties as well as excellent processability characterize the polyurethane system VITROX® RTM 332 of the company Huntsman, used for the license plate holder of the Superduke 1290R. The high impact strength and elasticity of the material meet the requirements of the component. Above all things, the processing capabilities are important for the HP-RTM-process, as the cycle time is decisive for series production. With an adjustable “snap-cure” time of less than 30 seconds up to 24 hours, VITROX® enables the shortest cycle times.

Polyurethane matrix

Production in the HP-RTM process

Production in the HP-RTM process

The high and consistent component quality is a particularly decisive argument for using the HP-RTM procedure. In the R.A.C.E. project, the compact system set-up is achieved through a STREAMLINE Hennecke metering machine and an Engel elast 400V vertically closing press. The entire process can be controlled via one system due to the intensive collaboration of Engel and Hennecke. The two components polyol and isocyanate are processed in the STREAMLINE metering plant. A consistent temperature is ensured by the temperature control of the entire system including the tube packet by recirculating the components. Additionally, a homogenized release agent can be injected via a third line.

Production in the HP-RTM process

The highest surface quality thanks to Hennecke mixheads

The highest surface quality thanks to Hennecke mixheads

Hennecke uses its newly developed mixhead MN10-3 RTM to mix the components. The high-pressure mixhead can also be used for semi-automatic docking processes due to the conical outlet pipe with integrated internal mold pressure sensor. In order to counteract polymerization shrinkage, the self-cleaning piston also offers the option of applying additional pressure during the curing process of the matrix with hydraulic control. The highest surface qualities can thus be achieved. A further special feature of the MN10-3 RTM is the serial equipment with the patented balanced-pressure injectors. This completely eliminates possible influence of the internal mold pressure on the pressure development of the components.

The highest surface quality thanks to Hennecke mixheads

Mold technology with innovative sealing material

Mold technology with innovative sealing material

Using highly reactive plastics under internal mold pressures of up to a maximum of 200 bar places high demands on mold technology. On the one hand, the mold must ensure long lifetimes when using the abrasive carbon fibres, and on the other hand guarantee a consistently highly polished surface. Thanks to the expertise of the toolmaker Persico from Nembro, Italy, these requirements were able to be successfully implemented in the R.A.C.E. project. Under average internal mold pressures of around 100 bar, the seal must also meet the highest demands. A novel sealing material of the company Murtfeldt was used for this purpose. Murlock®, a thermoplastic material, provides highest sealing properties for several hundred process cycles. Compared to conventional round cord seals, the material is resistant towards damages by remaining materials or carbon fibres and also chemically inert towards reactive resin systems.

Mold technology with innovative sealing material

Post-processing of components

Post-processing of components

Dissolving the core material with water is a special highlight of the CAVUS technology. The special nature of this process is that the focus is on sustainability. The core can be removed from the component without additional, environmentally harmful solvents. After cutting open the demolded component along the trim lines, it is placed in a water bath. The sand separates in the solution and can be completely re-used for new cores after drying. The binding material in the solution can either be disposed of as process water or can be separated and used as fertilizer in agricultural applications. After the sand is released from the component, it can be added to the conventional post-processing steps of fibre composite components, and finally mounted on the vehicle.

Post-processing of components

Statements of the project partners

Stefan von Czarnecki - DIRECTOR OF SALES AND BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT KTM TECHNOLOGIES

Stefan von Czarnecki - DIRECTOR OF SALES AND BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT
KTM TECHNOLOGIES

For us, competitive lightweight construction is a central focus in the development of high-performance products. With an innovative team, we realize parts in new technologies where we are constantly pushing the limits of what is possible for our customers. We at KTM Technologies also rely on powerful partners for our development projects in order to retain our leading position in lightweight construction in the future.

Ivo Herzog - MANAGING DIRECTOR REINSICHT GMBH

Ivo Herzog - MANAGING DIRECTOR
REINSICHT GMBH

Reinsicht is able to produce pressure-resistant complex geometries using sand. The sand cores will withstand an enormous injection pressure of up to 500 bar. The binder used is water-soluble. At the end of the process, it can be flushed out easily in an eco-friendly manner with regular water and without any use of solvents.

Dr. Stefan Carosella - HEAD OF COMPOSITE MATERIAL INSTITUTE OF AIRCRAFT DESIGN (IFB)

Dr. Stefan Carosella - HEAD OF COMPOSITE MATERIAL
INSTITUTE OF AIRCRAFT DESIGN (IFB)

The carbon fibres are woven around the sand core in a braiding process. The position, angle and orientation of each individual fibre is extremely important in order to properly absorb forces that are acting on the part.

Hubert Reitberger - AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCT MANAGER - ADVANCED COMPOSITE RESINS HUNTSMAN (GERMANY) GMBH

Hubert Reitberger - AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCT MANAGER - ADVANCED COMPOSITE RESINS
HUNTSMAN (GERMANY) GMBH

The R.A.C.E. project is an excellent platform where high-speed pu-matrix materials such as Vitrox® can demonstrate their full performance. Self-releasing systems with outstanding mechanical properties combined with optimized curing times are the key to mass production with a short cycle time.

Gaetano Donizetti - SALES MANAGER PERSICO SPA

Gaetano Donizetti - SALES MANAGER
PERSICO SPA

To withstand the carbon fibres, the aim is to realize a robust and highly polished surface. This enables the production of high-quality components and surfaces. for this, the ability to demold and the injection points have to be chosen correctly.

Ralf Burghoff - TECHNICAL ASSISTANT TO THE MANAGEMENT MURTFELDT KUNSTSTOFFE GMBH & CO. KG

Ralf Burghoff - TECHNICAL ASSISTANT TO THE MANAGEMENT
MURTFELDT KUNSTSTOFFE GMBH & CO. KG

For the first time in the R.A.C.E. project, Murtfeldt plastics is proud to present a sealing material that can withstand internal mould pressures of up to 200 bar for long periods and is still resistant to damage from residue materials or even carbon fibres.

Matthias Mayr - HEAD OF APPLICATION ENGINEERING & PROJECT MANAGEMENT CENTER FOR LIGHTWEIGHT COMPOSITE TECHNOLGIES ENGEL AUSTRIA GMBH

Matthias Mayr - HEAD OF APPLICATION ENGINEERING & PROJECT MANAGEMENT CENTER FOR LIGHTWEIGHT COMPOSITE TECHNOLGIES
ENGEL AUSTRIA GMBH

ENGEL machines are characterized by highest precision, energy efficiency and reliability. combined with our automation capabilities, they are the ideal basis for an effective mass production in the area of hp-rtm processing. we have integrated an ELAST 400 into the production cell which is best suited for both automated and laboratory operation.

Karolin Jacobs - MECHANICAL DESIGN HENNECKE GMBH

Karolin Jacobs - MECHANICAL DESIGN
HENNECKE GMBH

The STREAMLINE machine offers a wide range of special features which significantly influence the HP-RTM process. Pressure control, sensors in the mixhead outlet, hydraulically controlled back-pressure function and mould filling monitoring – to compensate for weight fluctuations in the preform - are essential to the perfect component.

Live production of the component at the K Trade Fair in Düsseldorf

Nearly 4000 visitors came to Hennecke's trade fair stand to take a look at the process. A part-to-part cycle time of 125 seconds and a weight reduction of over 62 percent with a simultaneous upgrade of the product suggests a successful project. Thus, the R.A.C.E. project is impressive proof of how mutual efforts of highly specialized project partners can achieve a decisive development step for the series production of hollow fibre composite components based on CAVUS technology.

Project R.A.C.E. “2.0”

License plate holder in hybrid construction (GFRP/CFRP)

The R.A.C.E. project is under constant further development. The latest production approach is a license plate holder in hybrid construction that ensures maximum design freedom in shape and color. The contour in the braiding process is hereby realized with glass fibers. By means of a targeted and therefore load-related strengthening using carbon fibers in the Tailored Fibre Placement process (TFP), the user receives a component that achieves maximum rigidity with minimum weight and significantly reduced raw material costs. In addition, a once again improved core sealing reduces the number of necessary process steps, which additionally minimizes production costs. The new production approach also enables easy integration of electronic components, such as sensor technology or light emitting diodes.

Hybrid license plate holder for superduke
tailored fibre placement (TFP)
tfp braiding
Production of tfp preform with sandcore
Integration of electronic components such as lighting or sensors
Contact one of our experts

Composites & Advanced Applications

Contact Form

The fields designated with (*) are mandatory fields. We require this information in order to be able to reply to you.

You write to: composites[at]hennecke[dot]com

Click here to download the FACTBOOK R.A.C.E.

• Project R.A.C.E.
  • Serienfertigung von komplexen, strukturellen Hohlbauteilen
  • Project R.A.C.E.
  • Serienfertigung von komplexen, strukturellen Hohlbauteilen
  • Project R.A.C.E.

Project R.A.C.E.

Serienfertigung von komplexen, strukturellen Hohlbauteilen

Im Rahmen des „Project R.A.C.E.“ (Reaction Application for Composite Evolution) hat Hennecke zusammen mit Top-Partnern der Branche einen entscheidenden Entwicklungsschritt geleistet, der es bereits jetzt erlaubt, komplexe Faserverbund-Hohlbauteile in Sekundenschnelle zu fertigen. Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht eine Prozesskette zur Fertigung eines Motorrad-Kennzeichenträgers aus Kohlefaser-Verbundwerkstoff in Hohlstrukturbauweise. In herkömmlicher Bauweise wiegt der Kennzeichenträger mehr als 765 Gramm. Im Rahmen des Project R.A.C.E. weist das Bauteil bei gesteigerter Performance ein Gesamtgewicht von lediglich 265 Gramm auf. Das ist eine Gewichtsersparnis von über 60 Prozent!

8 Partner, 21 Spezialisten, 28 Wochen Entwicklungszeit

Die Rahmenbedingungen des Project R.A.C.E. wurden klar definiert

Mit dem Ziel, die neue CAVUS-Produktionstechnologie in die Serienproduktion zu überführen, wurde das Project R.A.C.E. unter der Leitung von Hennecke ins Leben gerufen. Zusammen mit den Partnern Engel, Huntsman, Murtfeldt, IFB Stuttgart, Persico, Reinsicht (ehem. H2K Minerals) und KTM Technologies wurde ein internationales, ganzheitlich arbeitendes Team von 21 Spezialisten gebildet, das es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, ein Bauteil, beginnend bei einem weißen Blatt Papier, bis zur Serienproduktion zu entwickeln: den Kennzeichenträger für die KTM 1290 Superduke R. Die Herausforderung für dieses performance-Bauteil liegt im Zusammenspiel der richtigen Auslegung gepaart mit einem produktionsgerechten Design und der Kombination von effizienten Verfahren auf Basis der innovativen CAVUS-Technologie von KTM Technologies. CAVUS bezeichnet die automatisierte Prozesskette für die Herstellung von strukturellen, komplexen Hohlbauteilen: von der Kernfertigung und Herstellung der Preforms mit Carbonfasern, beispielsweise in Flechttechnologie, über den HP-RTM-Prozess bis zum Auslösen des Kernmaterials. Hierdurch lassen sich ganz neue Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten in Design und Funktion realisieren.

Ideation und Design

Ideation und Design

Das Zusammenspiel aus Design und Engineering bildet die Basis für ein erfolgreiches Bauteil. Kiska-Designer und Experten von KTM Technologies nutzen für den Kennzeichenträger der Superduke dabei den Ansatz des „Inside Out Design“. Erste Handzeichnungen auf Papier bilden dabei die Grundlage für den parallel startenden Entwicklungsprozess. Aspekte wie Bauraum, Anbindungskonzept und Fertigbarkeit des Bauteils werden von Anfang an mitberücksichtigt.

Ideation und Design

Bauteil- und Prozesssimulation

Bauteil- und Prozesssimulation

Um die Prozessfähigkeit bereits in der frühen Projektphase sicherzustellen, nutzen die Ingenieure vom IFB (Institut für Flugzeugbau) der Universität Stuttgart diverse Simulationswerkzeuge. Nachdem die ersten Sketches in die CAD-Software überführt wurden, werden Struktursimulationen des Bauteils angestellt, die eine erste Abschätzung der benötigten Anzahl an Flechtvorgängen ergeben. Diese Ergebnisse werden im nächsten Schritt für die Flechtsimulation verwendet, welche Erkenntnisse über die entstehenden Faserwinkel und mögliche Problemzonen liefert.

Bauteil- und Prozesssimulation

Kerntechnologie

Kerntechnologie

Zentraler Bestandteil der CAVUS-Technologie ist der Sandkern von Reinsicht (ehem. H2K Minerals). Für das Project R.A.C.E. wurde der Kern auf eine Temperaturbeständigkeit von 330 °C und eine Druckbeständigkeit von 500 bar eingestellt. Seine Besonderheit zeigt der Kern auch nach der Infiltration des Geflechts mit der Matrix. Das Auslösen aus dem Bauteil erfolgt ohne erhöhten Energieaufwand mit reinem Wasser. Die dabei entstehende Lösung ist zudem nicht toxisch. Durch die eigenständige Separation der Kernkomponenten können die Bestandteile leicht getrennt und recycelt werden. Dabei sind, je nach Materialkombination, bis zu 98 Prozent des Kerns wiederverwendbar.

Kerntechnologie

Preformen

Preformen

Das Aufbringen der Fasern wurde vom Institut für Flugzeugbau der Universität Stuttgart mittels Flechttechnologie umgesetzt. Der Kern wurde dazu in einer Spannvorrichtung am Roboter der Flechtanlage fixiert und anhand des in der Simulation berechneten Flechtpfads durch das Flechtrad geführt. Für das Project R.A.C.E. wurde dazu ein Herzog RF 1/64-100 Radialflechter genutzt. Mit 64 Flechtfäden, bestehend aus 24k Kohlenstofffaser-Rovings, wurde das Textil auf den Kern aufgebracht. Wie fest das Geflecht dabei auf dem Kern sitzt, wird durch die Stärke der Federn in den Klöppeln bestimmt. 600 Gramm Zugkraft der Federn lieferte das beste Ergebnis aus Flexibilität und Festigkeit für das biaxiale Geflecht.

Preformen

Polyurethanmatrix

Polyurethanmatrix

Ausgezeichnete mechanische Eigenschaften sowie eine exzellente Verarbeitbarkeit zeichnen das, für den Kennzeichenträger der Superduke 1290R genutzte Polyurethansystem VITROX® RTM 332 der Firma Huntsman aus. Die hohe Schlagzähigkeit und Dehnbarkeit des Materials erfüllen die Anforderungen des Bauteils. Wichtig für den HP-RTM-Prozess sind vor allem die Verarbeitungseigenschaften, da bei einer Serienproduktion die Zykluszeit zählt. Mit einer einstellbaren „snap-cure“ Zeit von weniger als 30 Sekunden bis zu 24 Stunden können daher auch kürzeste Taktzeiten mit VITROX® realisiert werden.

Polyurethanmatrix

Fertigung im HP-RTM-Verfahren

Fertigung im HP-RTM-Verfahren

Besonders die hohe und konstante Bauteilqualität ist ein entscheidendes Argument für den Einsatz des HP-RTM-Verfahrens. Im Project R.A.C.E. wird das Anlagen-Set-up durch eine Hennecke-Dosiermaschine vom Typ STREAMLINE und eine vertikal schließende Presse vom Typ Engel elast 400V compact gebildet. Durch die intensive Zusammenarbeit der Firmen Engel und Hennecke kann der gesamte Prozess über eine Anlage gesteuert werden. In der STREAMLINE-Dosieranlage werden die beiden Komponenten Polyol und Isocyanat verarbeitet. Durch die Temperierung der gesamten Anlage inklusive der Schlauchpakete wird durch Rezirkulation der Komponenten eine konstante Temperatur sichergestellt. Über einen dritten Strang kann zudem ein homogenisiertes Trennmittel injiziert werden.

Fertigung im HP-RTM-Verfahren

Höchste Oberflächenqualität dank Hennecke-Mischköpfen

Höchste Oberflächenqualität dank Hennecke-Mischköpfen

Für das Vermischen der Komponenten setzt Hennecke seinen neu entwickelten Mischkopf MN10-3 RTM ein. Durch das konische Auslaufrohr mit integriertem Forminnendruck-Sensor kann der Hochdruck-Mischkopf auch für halbautomatisierte Andockvorgänge eingesetzt werden. Um dem Polymerisationsschrumpf entgegenzuwirken, bietet der selbstreinigenden Stößel zudem die Funktion, während des Aushärtens der Matrix hydraulisch gesteuert nachzudrücken. So können höchste Oberflächenqualitäten erreicht werden. Eine weitere Besonderheit des MN10-3 RTM ist die serienmäßige Bestückung mit den patentierten Gleichdruckdüsen. Hierdurch wird eine mögliche Einflussnahme des Forminnendrucks auf den Druckverlauf der Komponenten gänzlich vermieden.

Höchste Oberflächenqualität dank Hennecke-Mischköpfen

Werkzeugtechnik mit innovativem Dichtungsmaterial

Werkzeugtechnik mit innovativem Dichtungsmaterial

Die Verwendung hochreaktiver Kunststoffe bei Werkzeuginnendrücken bis maximal 200 bar stellt hohe Ansprüche an die Werkzeugtechnik. Einerseits muss das Werkzeug hohe Standzeiten bei der Verwendung der abrasiven Kohlefasern bieten, andererseits eine gleichbleibend hochpolierte Oberfläche garantieren. Durch die Expertise des Werkzeugbauers Persico aus Nembro, Italien, konnten diese Anforderungen im Project R.A.C.E. erfolgreich umgesetzt werden. Bei durchschnittlichen Werkzeuginnendrücken von rund 100 bar muss auch die Dichtung hohen Anforderungen gerecht werden. Dafür wurde ein neuartiges Dichtmaterial der Firma Murtfeldt verwendet. Murlock®, ein thermoplastischer Kunststoff, bietet höchste Dichtwirkung bei mehreren hundert Prozesszyklen. Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Rundschnur-Dichtungen ist das Material resistent gegenüber Beschädigungen durch Restmaterialien oder Carbonfasern und dabei auch chemisch inert gegenüber reaktiven Harzsystemen.

Werkzeugtechnik mit innovativem Dichtungsmaterial

Bauteilnachbearbeitung

Bauteilnachbearbeitung

Das Auslösen des Kernmaterials mittels Wasser ist ein besonderes Highlight der CAVUS-Technologie. Das Besondere dabei ist, dass die Nachhaltigkeit im Vordergrund steht. Ohne zusätzliche, umweltschädliche Lösungsmittel kann der Kern aus dem Bauteil ausgelöst werden. Nach dem Auftrennen des entformten Bauteils an den Beschnittkanten wird es in ein Wasserbad gelegt. Der Sand setzt sich in der Lösung ab und kann nach einer Trocknung vollständig für neue Kerne wiederverwendet werden. Das in der Lösung befindliche Bindemittel kann entweder als Brauchwasser entsorgt werden, oder abgeschieden sogar als Düngemittel für die Landwirtschaft dienen. Nachdem der Sand aus dem Bauteil gelöst wurde, kann dies den üblichen Nachbearbeitungsschritten von Faserverbundbauteilen zugeführt und abschließend am Fahrzeug montiert werden.

Bauteilnachbearbeitung

Statements der Projektpartner

Stefan von Czarnecki - DIRECTOR OF SALES AND BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT KTM TECHNOLOGIES

Stefan von Czarnecki - DIRECTOR OF SALES AND BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT
KTM TECHNOLOGIES

Wettbewerbsfähiger Leichtbau ist für uns eine zentrale Zielsetzung bei der Entwicklung von leistungsfähigen Produkten. Mit einem innovativen Team realisieren wir Bauteile in neuen Technologien und Prozessen und verschieben für unsere Kunden dabei stetig die Grenzen des machbaren. Wir bei KTM Technologies setzen für unsere Entwicklungsprojekte auf starke Partner, damit wir auch zukünftig beim Thema Leichtbau an der Spitze stehen.

Ivo Herzog - MANAGING DIRECTOR REINSICHT GMBH

Ivo Herzog - MANAGING DIRECTOR
REINSICHT GMBH

Das Unternehmen Reinsicht ist in der Lage, komplexe Geometrien druckstabil mittels Sand herzustellen. Hierbei können die hergestellten Sandkerne einem enormen Injektionsdruck von bis zu 500 Bar standhalten. Das verwendete Bindemittel ist wasserlöslich. Am Prozessende kann das Mittel ganz einfach mit herkömmlichem Wasser umweltfreundlich ohne Lösemittel herausgespült werden.

Dr. Stefan Carosella - HEAD OF COMPOSITE MATERIAL INSTITUTE OF AIRCRAFT DESIGN (IFB)

Dr. Stefan Carosella - HEAD OF COMPOSITE MATERIAL
INSTITUTE OF AIRCRAFT DESIGN (IFB)

Die Carbonfasern werden bei einem Flechtprozess um den Sandkern geflochten. Die Lage, der Winkel und die Ausrichtung jeder einzelnen Faser ist enorm wichtig, um nachher Kräfte, die auf das Bauteil wirken, richtig aufzunehmen.

Hubert Reitberger - AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCT MANAGER - ADVANCED COMPOSITE RESINS HUNTSMAN (GERMANY) GMBH

Hubert Reitberger - AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCT MANAGER - ADVANCED COMPOSITE RESINS
HUNTSMAN (GERMANY) GMBH

Das Projekt R.A.C.E. bietet eine exzellente Möglichkeit, in der high-speed PU-Matrixmaterialien wie Vitrox® ihre volle Leistungsfähigkeit unter Beweis stellen können. Selbsttrennende Systeme mit herausragenden mechanischen Eigenschaften, gepaart mit auf die Zykluszeit eingestellten Aushärtezeiten, sind der Schlüssel für die Serienfertigung mit kurzer Taktzeit.

Gaetano Donizetti - SALES MANAGER PERSICO SPA

Gaetano Donizetti - SALES MANAGER
PERSICO SPA

Um den Carbonfasern stand zu halten wird eine robuste und hochpolierte Oberfläche benötigt. Diese ermöglicht die Fertigung von hochqualitativen Bauteilen und Oberflächen. Hierbei müssen Entformbarkeit und Injektionspunkte richtig gewählt werden.

Ralf Burghoff - TECHNICAL ASSISTANT TO THE MANAGEMENT MURTFELDT KUNSTSTOFFE GMBH & CO. KG

Ralf Burghoff - TECHNICAL ASSISTANT TO THE MANAGEMENT
MURTFELDT KUNSTSTOFFE GMBH & CO. KG

Erstmalig im Projekt R.A.C.E ist Murtfeldt Kunststoffe stolz, ein Dichtungsmaterial zu präsentieren, das dauerhaft den Forminnendrücken von bis zu 200 Bar standhält und dabei resistent gegenüber Beschädigungen von Restmaterialien oder gar Carbonfasern ist.

Matthias Mayr - HEAD OF APPLICATION ENGINEERING & PROJECT MANAGEMENT CENTER FOR LIGHTWEIGHT COMPOSITE TECHNOLGIES ENGEL AUSTRIA GMBH

Matthias Mayr - HEAD OF APPLICATION ENGINEERING & PROJECT MANAGEMENT CENTER FOR LIGHTWEIGHT COMPOSITE TECHNOLGIES
ENGEL AUSTRIA GMBH

Maschinen von ENGEL zeichnen sich durch höchste Präzision, Energieeffizienz und Zuverlässigkeit aus. Gemeinsam mit unseren Automatisierungsmöglichkeiten bilden sie die ideale basis für effektive Serienfertigung im Bereich der HP-RTM-Verarbeitung. In die Fertigungszelle haben wir eine ELAST 400 integriert, die sowohl für den automatisierten Betrieb als auch für einen Laborbetrieb bestens geeignet ist.

Karolin Jacobs - MECHANICAL DESIGN HENNECKE GMBH

Karolin Jacobs - MECHANICAL DESIGN
HENNECKE GMBH

Die STREAMLINE Maschine bietet ein breites Spektrum an Besonderheiten, die den HP-RTM-Prozess massgeblich beeinflussen. Hierbei spielen Druckregelung, Sensoren im Mischkopfauslauf, hydraulisch gesteuerte Nachdrückfunktion, sowie Formfüllüberwachung zum Ausgleich von Preform-Gewichtsschwankungen eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Herstellung des perfekten Bauteils.

Live-Produktion des Bauteils auf der K-Messe in Düsseldorf

Knapp 4000 Besucher waren auf dem Messestand von Hennecke zu Gast, um sich den Prozess anzusehen. Eine Part-to-Part Zykluszeit von 125 Sekunden und eine Gewichtsreduzierung von über 62 Prozent, bei gleichzeitiger Aufwertung des Produkts, sprechen für ein erfolgreiches Projekt. Das Project R.A.C.E. stellt daher beeindruckend unter Beweis, wie durch gemeinsame Anstrengungen hoch spezialisierter Projektpartner ein entscheidender Entwicklungsschritt im Bereich der Serienfertigung von Faserverbund-Hohlbauteilen auf Basis der CAVUS-Technologie erreicht werden kann.

Project R.A.C.E. „2.0“

Kennzeichenträger in Hybrid-Bauweise (GFRP/CFRP)

Das Project R.A.C.E. wird stetig weiterentwickelt. Der neueste Produktionsansatz ist ein Kennzeichenträger in Hybrid-Bauweise, der bei Form- und Farbgebung ein Maximum in puncto Designfreiheit sicherstellt. Die Konturgebung im Flechtprozess wird hierbei mit Glasfasern realisiert. Durch eine gezielte und somit lastgerechte Verstärkung mittels Carbon-Fasern im Tailored-Fibre-Placement-Verfahren (TFP) erhält der Anwender ein Bauteil, das bei minimalen Gewicht und signifikant reduzierten Rohmaterialkosten maximale Steifigkeitswerte erzielt. Eine nochmals verbesserte Kernversiegelung reduziert darüber hinaus die Anzahl der notwendigen Prozessschritte, was die Produktionskosten zusätzlich minimiert. Daneben erlaubt der neue Produktionsansatz auch die problemlose Integration von elektronischen Komponenten, wie z. B. Sensorik oder Leuchtdioden.

Hybrid Kennzeichenträger für Superduke
tailored fibre placement (TFP)
tfp Flechtprozess
Produktion des Preforms mittels eines Sandkerns
Integration von elektronischen Komponenten wie Sensorik oder Licht
Kontaktieren Sie einen unserer Experten

Composites & Advanced Applications

Kontaktformular

Die mit einem Stern (*) gekennzeichneten Felder sind Pflichtfelder. Wir benötigen diese Angaben, um Ihnen zu antworten.

Sie schreiben an: composites[at]hennecke[dot]com

Hier finden Sie das FACTBOOK R.A.C.E. als Download